Home » Uncategorized » Radio National – The Trouble with Beauty

Radio National – The Trouble with Beauty

Recent Comments

Categories

4711016-16x9-700x394
I applaud the host, Valarie Redfern, for drawing me into the topic being both entertaining and informative simultaneously. This is the first radio documentary that I have ever listened to and I will definitely listen to more. I really enjoyed this documentary method from a technical view. As a fellow amateur documentarian myself I know a thing or three about the process of a documentary.

The subject matter is a peculiar thing; I had never considered what it would be like for a girl to grow with aspirations of beauty, before listening to this. The documentary takes you through the various aspects of beauty, looking at how either extreme of a particular aspect can be negative. Establishing that balance is necessary to ensure a true beauty on the inside and outside.

The German guy they kidnapped to announce each chapter was a little strange, but I can kind of see what they were going for. However, by the seventh chapter I had fallen under that frightened, German’s spell and was entranced by his every word from that point on.

I literally cringed when “am I not prettier enough” started playing.I was not a fan of some of the songs that were played during this documentary. That being said I loved some of the other songs. So my overall verdict of the songs featured in this documentary, is that they were decent.

The host talks to some guy who has a bad relationship history, which is only being helped along by his manic depression. I think I may have missed the point as to why he was a part of this documentary. The host continues to talk to this horrible person through the next chapter leaving a sour taste in the listener’s ears.

The documentary poses a lot of interesting sociological questions. And I should know being the amateur sociologist that I am. The listener of this documentary will surely take away a modified perspective on the psyche of a young woman.


Leave a comment